You are viewing: The Citadel of Fear

£7.69
Add to basket

The Citadel of Fear

Author: Francis Stevens

SKU: 9781513297002 Categories: ,
Quantity Discount Offer
Buy any 2 books Get 5% Off 5%
Buy any 3 books Get 7% Off 7%
Buy any 4 or more books Get 10% Off 10%
Sale!

£7.69

15 in stock

Description

The Citadel of Fear (1918) is a science fiction novel by Francis Stevens. Using her well-known pseudonym, Gertrude Barrows Bennett published some of the twentieth century’s greatest science fiction stories and novels. The Citadel of Fear, her debut novel, has been recognized as a powerful tale of the lost world genre of adventure and remains central to Stevens’ reputation as a pioneering author of fantasy and science fiction. As the Great War rages on, two Irish American prospectors journey across the Mexican desert in search of fortune. Lucky to survive the heat and harsh conditions, they discover a dense jungle rumored to be the home of a lost tribe of Aztecs devoted to the serpent god Quetzalcoatl. Despite their fears, Kennedy and Colin O’Hara remain determined to complete their mission, no matter the cost. Venturing through the darkness of the jungle, they find the underground city of Tlapallam, where a group of assailants takes Kennedy prisoner. Left to return alone through the desert, O’Hara vows to return for his friend. Published at the height of Stevens’ career as a popular storyteller in the nation’s leading fantasy magazines, The Citadel of Fear is a lost world novel in the tradition of H. Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs that continues to entertain and astound over a century after it appeared in print. With a beautifully designed cover and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of Francis Stevens’ The Citadel of Fear is a classic work of American science fiction reimagined for modern readers. show more

Additional information

Weight 254.01 g
Author

Francis Stevens

Publisher

Graphic Arts Books

Binding

Paperback / softback

ISBN-10

1513297007

Dimensions

203 x 127

Language

English

Country of Pub

United States

Book Condition

New

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Citadel of Fear”