You are viewing: Sofia Acosta Makes a Scene

£11.54
Add to basket

Sofia Acosta Makes a Scene

Author: Emma Otheguy

SKU: 9780593372630 Category:
Quantity Discount Offer
Buy any 2 books Get 5% Off 5%
Buy any 3 books Get 7% Off 7%
Buy any 4 or more books Get 10% Off 10%
Sale!

£11.54

7 in stock

Description

A poignant, coming of age story about a Cuban-American girl trying to figure out where she belongs–both in her ballet-loving family and the wider world. Perfect for fans of Front Desk and Merci Suárez Changes Gears. It’s a good thing Sofía Acosta loves dreaming up costumes, because otherwise she’s a ballet disaster–unlike her parents, who danced under prima ballerina Alicia Alonso before immigrating to the suburbs of New York. Luckily, when the Acostas host their dancer friends from Cuba for a special performance with the American Ballet Theatre, Sofía learns there’s more than dance holding her family together. Between swapping stories about Cuba and sharing holiday celebrations, the Acostas have never been more of a team. Then Sofía finds out about the dancers’ secret plans to defect to the United States, and makes a serious mistake–she confides in her best friend, only to discover that Tricia doesn’t want outsiders moving to their community. Now Sofía wonders what the other neighbors in her tight-knit suburban town really think of immigrant families like hers. Sofía doesn’t want to make a scene, but if she doesn’t speak up, how will she figure out if her family really belongs? show more

Additional information

Weight 410 g
Author

Emma Otheguy

Publisher

Random House USA Inc

Binding

Hardback

ISBN-10

0593372638

Dimensions

149 x 217 x 32

Language

English

Country of Pub

United States

Book Condition

New

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sofia Acosta Makes a Scene”