Letters from the Dead

Author: Sam Hurcom

SKU: 9781409189916 Category:
Quantity Discount Offer
Buy any 2 books Get 5% Off 5%
Buy any 3 books Get 7% Off 7%
Buy any 4 or more books Get 10% Off 10%
Sale!

$24.86

Out of stock

Description

‘Gothic, claustrophobic, and wonderfully dark’ GUARDIAN on Sam Hurcom’s Thomas Bexley novels… The next stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel following one of the world’s first forensic photographers – for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions and Little Strangers. * * * * * * * * 1905. A year after ‘the affair’ in Dinas Powys, Thomas Bexley has become a drunkard and recluse, haunted by terrible visions of the dead. But when news of a spate of extraordinary kidnappings reaches him, Thomas is shocked to learn that his dear friend and former mentor, Professor Elijah Hawthorn, is the lead suspect. Discovering a plea for help from Hawthorn claiming to have unearthed a gruesome conspiracy at the heart of the Metropolitan Police, Thomas embarks on a journey to prove Hawthorn’s innocence. But wherever Thomas goes, he is followed by the dead, and as the mystery of Hawthorn’s disappearance deepens, so too does Thomas’s apparent insanity… How can Thomas be certain of the truth when he can’t trust anybody around him, not even himself…? * * * * * * * * Praise for Sam Hurcom: ‘An intriguing debut’ THE TIMES ‘A promising debut – gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark’ GUARDIAN ‘A sparkling debut from a name to watch…You might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale’ David Young show more

Additional information

Weight 468 g
Author

Publisher
Binding

Paperback

Extent

384

ISBN-10

1409189910

Dimensions

153 x 233 x 31

Language

English

Country of Pub

London, United Kingdom

Published

20201126

Book Condition

New

Notes

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Letters from the Dead”