Courage, The Adventuress and The False Messiah

Author: Hans Jacob Christoffel von Grimmelshausen

SKU: 9780691651361 Category:
Quantity Discount Offer
Buy any 2 books Get 5% Off 5%
Buy any 3 books Get 7% Off 7%
Buy any 4 or more books Get 10% Off 10%


Out of stock


Grimmelshausen’s enduring fame as Germany’s greatest satirical novelist has rested mainly on The Adventerous Simplicissimus, the first of four novels comprising the Simplician cycle. Less well known, though of equal interest for their penetrating and satiric insight into seventeenth-century beliefs and superstitions, are the two Simplician tales now made available to English readers in this edition: Courage, The Adventuress, the fictional biography of a camp follower in the Thirty Years War, a grimly humorous tale told in the earthy language of the people; and The False Messiah, comprising nine chapters from Grimmelshausen’s last work, The Enchanted Bird’s Nest, Part II. The book includes an Introduction with an account of Grimmelshausen’s life, works, and philosophy, as well as critical comment on the two works.Originally published in 1964.The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

Additional information

Weight 485 g

Hans Jacob Christoffel von Grimmelshausen


Princeton University Press






203 x 127

Country of Pub

United States

Book Condition



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Courage, The Adventuress and The False Messiah”