Placeholder

You are viewing: That Affair Next Door

£ 14.24
Add to basket

That Affair Next Door

Author: Anna Katharine Green

EAN: 9781464212956 Category: Product ID: ria9781464212956_rcc

£ 14.24

9 in stock

Description

This inaugural volume in the Library of Congress Crime Classics series, featuring the first woman sleuth in a series, is a must for genre buffs.–Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) From the mother of detective novel and the first book unearthed in exclusive partnership with the Library of Congress, That Affair Next Door follows Miss Amelia Butterworth, an inquisitive single woman in the Victorian Era who becomes involved in a murder investigation after the woman next door turns up dead. Heralded as a perfect vintage murder mystery, That Affair Next Door is: For fans of historical crime mysteries and crime classicsFor readers of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple seriesFor fans of trailblazing women on and off the page Miss Amelia Butterworth prides herself on being an observer of human nature, especially of the people she sees every day from her usual spot at her front window–that is, until she witnesses the prelude to a ghastly murder. Late at night, two people enter her neighbor’s home, but only one leaves. The next morning a young woman is found dead, crushed beyond recognition beneath a cabinet. But her death was no accident–it soon comes to light that she was stabbed by a seemingly innocuous item: a hat pin. Rife with social tension and mistaken identity, the messy case is assigned to veteran Detective Ebenezer Gryce. He expects Miss Butterworth to demurely return home, but she was there at the beginning of this case and she intends to see it through to the end. Miss Butterworth is determined to solve the mystery before the detective, but what begins as a battle of the sexes soon turns into a fight for the ever-elusive truth. Anna Katharine Green is credited as the mother of the detective novel, and the classic That Affair Next Door proves that the intrigue of a well-crafted mystery is timeless. show more

Additional information

Weight385.55 g
Publisher
binding

Paperback

extent

384

isbn10

1464212953

dimensions

215. x 139.

language

English

country_of_pub

Naperville, South Africa

published

20200507

book_condition

New

notes

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “That Affair Next Door”